Review – The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull

33608900

Synopsis:
Poppy Hooper and Ember Hawkweed couldn’t lead more different lives. Poppy is a troubled teen: moving from school to school, causing chaos wherever she goes, never making friends or lasting connections. Ember is a young witch, struggling to find a place within her coven and prove her worth. Both are outsiders: feeling like they don’t belong and seeking escape.

Poppy and Ember soon become friends, and secretly share knowledge of their two worlds. Little do they know that destiny has brought them together: an ancient prophecy, and a life-changing betrayal. Growing closer, they begin to understand why they’ve never belonged and the reason they are now forever connected to each other.

Switched at birth by the scheming witch Raven Hawkweed, Poppy and Ember must come to terms with their true identities and fight for their own place in the world. Enter Leo, a homeless boy with a painful past who – befriending them both – tests their love and loyalty. Can Poppy and Ember’s friendship survive? And can it withstand the dark forces that are gathering?
My Review:
3.5 out of 5 stars

This book sounded really interesting and I am glad I decided to take a chance on it.

The prologue of this book was written in a way that made me unsure if I would like it or not. I kept reading though and after the first couple of chapters I really got sucked into the story. I was a little confused throughout the book but once things started coming to light it all made sense. There were a couple of twists that I wasn’t expecting at all and my mouth dropped open in shock.

I enjoyed the author’s writing style. The author did a good job of capturing the reader’s attention and then keeping it. The mystery behind what was going on kept the pages turning and once I started the book I finished it pretty quickly. I enjoyed the different friendships in this book. The one between Ember and Poppy and also between each girl and Leo. They all seemed to be there for each other when the other one needed them.

There were a couple things that bothered me in this book. The pacing was a little slow but I was so interested in finding out how everything would turn out, I read through the book fast. It just took a long time for everything to come together and it seemed like the book ended abruptly. I also wish a little bit more time had been spent on the witch aspect of things, but I’m guessing that is going to come into play in the next book.

I’m looking forward to reading The Hawkweed Legacy to see how things turn out!

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Book Links:
Goodreads
Amazon

Author’s Links:
Website
Twitter

One thought on “Review – The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull

Leave a Reply

